Stephen C. Foster’s “Jenny’s Coming o’er the Green” was first published in Clark’s School Visitor in July 1860. It was subsequently entered into copyright on July 21, 1860, and published by Lee & Walker as a songsheet.
Foster’s friend John Mahon wrote about the song in “The Last Years of Stephen C. Foster,” which appeared in the New York Clipper on March 24, 1877. He wrote,